An Interview with a Social Media ‘Intern’

Shane Reilly is a 22 year old college student who works part time doing promotional work for Red Bull.  Red Bull is an energy drink – but it also has become a symbol for extreme sports. Red Bull has a very aggressive promotional strategy.  The big funding is poured into commercials on major networks and sponsorship at major events.  But a huge part of their campaign is run by employing students, like Shane, to hand out free drinks, work events, and promote on social media forums.

I sat down with Shane to get a better idea of what he does, and here are some of his responses:

How long have you been working for Red Bull?

I started when I was a sophomore, so its been about 2 years.

How has your role changed since starting 2 years ago?

Well, I had a friend who had been working with Red Bull, they needed some manpower for events, so he let me know.  Originally, I was doing a lot of things like handing out flyers, free cans, and moving different equipment around.  I thought it was cool to be doing work for Red Bull, and others did too; but it was really pretty basic.  Eventually it got a little more involved.

So, what are some things you have done for Red Bull since?

A big part of my job now is promoting different events or specials.  I operate a twitter account for Red Bull as well as a personal account, and I use both to notify followers when we have events or specials.  We do specials at bars pretty frequently for example.  I just try to create some interest, and it often is pretty easy with Red Bull’s name behind it.

Anything else?