MIS 3581, Summer 2017–Laurel Miller

Discussion Question #6: You can’t learn everything in the classroom….

What lessons did you learn during your internship that you just couldn’t learn in the classroom or from a textbook?

39 Responses to Discussion Question #6: You can’t learn everything in the classroom….

• Email etiquette has been a huge thing to learn during my internship. Some components were more simple like establishing a format, or knowing who the correct person is to send the email to. However, other components were more complicated. Things like practicing brevity so people actually read your message, or knowing when and when not to CC a person on an email, or deciding whether or not an email should be present in a person’s inbox when they get back from vacation, etc. Learning to be courteous with email has been a whole new adventure, and I’m still learning!