MIS 9003 – Prof. Min-Seok Pang

Xi Wu

Hello, everyone. I am a phD student in Management Information Systems concentration. I received a B.S. in Automation from Central South University and M.S in Pattern Recognition & Intelligent Systems from Huazhong University of Science & Technology. Prior to joining Fox business school, I was working as a Research Assistant in the field of Management Information System in Chinese University of Hong Kong business school and got a MSc degree in Business Analytics from Chinese University of Hong Kong. My research interests lie in economics of IT. Some specific topics include e-commerce strategy, online marketing and enterprise software. I am open to discuss any interesting topics in IS field.

Week 13 Reading Summary – Pang and Tanriverdi (2017) – Xi Wu

Pang and Tanriverdi (2017) Security Breaches in the U.S. Federal Government

There has been limited research on the mitigation mechanisms of security vulnerabilities with actual breach incident data at the organization level. This paper studies the effectiveness of three organizational IT risks mitigation mechanisms: modernization of legacy IT systems, institution of effective IT GRC, and migration of legacy IT system to the cloud. The hypotheses are developed based on criminology theories such as rational choice theory and crime opportunity theory. (1) Federal agencies that spend higher percentages of their IT budgets on the maintenance of legacy IT systems are likely to experience more security incidents than ones that spend higher percentages of their IT budgets on IT modernization and new IT development; (2a) IT GRC effectiveness reduces security incidents in federal agencies; (2b) IT GRC effectiveness substitutes IT modernization in reducing security incidents; (3) Federal agencies that migrate their IT systems more to the cloud are likely to experience fewer security incidents.