Information Systems Integration – Tony Messina

Will adobe become better at editing photos than you?

Adobe Max Demos

Adobe’s new software will utilize algorithms that use reference photos or drawings  in order to apply a similar look to your photos and drawings.  Another feature that Adobe is rolling out this year is automated colorization of black and white photos. The software  will analyze a scene and then apply color with accuracy. Overall these advancements will make amateur photographers and selfie takers lives a lot easier thanks to the new Adobe software.

8 Responses to Will adobe become better at editing photos than you?

• Although I use Photostop, Illustrator, and/or Lightroom on an almost daily basis, I really don’t consider myself an expert at any of these tools. Being a web designer, I typically only use the tools for making minor edits/color corrections to photographs, resizing images to fit different frames on a website, and drawing basic icons to be used on a website. I find these new advancements a HUGE step forward for the beginner-intermediate skill levels, but I can’t imagine experts finding any use for it, as they’re already accustomed to their own processes.

• As a Photographer my preferred software for photo editing is Photoshop, I find it a far superior tool compared to Lightroom. I use their content aware brush along with clone stamping quite often to remove unwanted objects or things out of my photographs. The content aware brush is automated and uses algorithms while clone stamping is manual. I am really curious to see the results with this new feature and how accurate they really are. However, in my experience a lot of the time I don’t like how the algorithms ‘fix’ my photos and I often have to do it manually. Even if I try to use the automated color correct feature I find it to be way off. Maybe I should update my software and checkout the new features, I’m currently running the version from 2015.