Section 004, Instructor: Mark Sabat

Weekly Question #11: Complete by April 27, 2017

Leave your response to the question below as a comment on this post by the beginning of class on April 27, 2017. It only needs to be three or four sentences.

What was the most important takeaway (from your perspective) from this course? If you had to explain to a future MIS0855 scholar what this course was about, what would you say?

43 Responses to Weekly Question #11: Complete by April 27, 2017

• I think the most important take away from this course is learning about data and how to deal with specific types of data, like cleaning it and good/bad types, things like SMART, KPI’s and also ways to make good visualizations on Tableau.

• My major is advertising research, and it is easily how to make data engaging and interesting. Dull presentation and boring numbers do not get agencies hired, but if your’e able to present data in a interesting story – you’re miles ahead of the competitions.

• What I mostly took away from this course is how to thoroughly analyze data and take advantage of the technologies provided to me like excel and tableau. This class made me put more data and what I am analyzing into perspective. Tableau was had to learn, but in more ways than one it helps with data visualization and having your data set understood.

• I have not always been a data or “numbers” person but this class has taught me how to manage data effectively using Tableau and Excel. My resume has potentially been updated with the skills I learned and the tools provided in this class.

• This class helped me to learn skills with how to deal with data. The class helped me learn how to look through data and clean the bad data which is an important skill. I also learned more effective techniques in excel as well as how to use tableau.