Total
3075 Points
MIS Badge

Click here
to validate the recipient

Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America Experience

Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America Experience

President, Pennsbury High School Chapter

Being a member of the Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America has been my most life changing experience thus far. I credit this organization with helping me grow as a woman and leader, defining what I want my future to look like. When I attended my first meeting of my high school’s chapter as a freshman, I did not know anything about this organization. By the end of that same meeting, I knew this was the place for me, and committed myself to being involved for the entirety of my high school career.

At the end of my freshman year, I was appointed to be the Fundraising Chairperson for the following school year. This required me to lead events and fundraisers to fund our chapter activities. In this position, I learned about what it takes to fund an organization and that this is not always an easy task. We were struggling with debt at the beginning of our school year, and I, with the help of my team, planned events such as a Breakfast with Santa and fundraisers such as the daily sale of cookies and pretzels in our school. These events and others pulled us out of our debt and funded our trip to the State Leadership Conference that year.